Paradise Found?

My father went to Honduras on vacation. Must be nice. However, I am on my way to Manila for a rugby tournament, so I have no room to complain. In fact, I also have no time to write a proper article. On the way there, I hope to finish reading Areopagitica by John Milton. Areopagitica is addressed to the Parliament of England and is a tract against censorship. His arguments stem partially from the historical perspective, pointing out that the only governments or institutions that advocated censorship in the past were tyrannical and unjust. Can you trust people who don’t want you to know something?

In lieu of my own choice for beer of the week, I include my father’s review of Port Royal Export from Honduras (without his permission.)

 When we left for Utila, one of the Bay Islands of Honduras, for a week long SCUBA adventure, there was much uncertainty about what awaited us.  Not least, the availability and quality of fermented grain drinks.

The first night in the lodge, we quickly found that there were two native beers available.  Salva Vida was pointed out as having “more flavor.”  I did drink a few while there, but, of course, I tried the only other available cerveza, which promptly became my favorite (of the two available in our resort).

The label of Port Royal claims various awards and medals which very well may have been justly awarded.  It is a Pilsner style beer with a light, crisp, clear color, having a medium light body with a refreshing clean flavor without sweetness.  (4.8 alcohol).  It is light on hops, but has no unpleasantness in the mouth or aftertaste.  It has an unbelievably rich, thick head – the photo was taken as an afterthought after the freshly poured glass had settled briefly.  Initially the head actually was reminiscent of the Dairy Queen trademark – curling above the level of the sides of the glass.

The Brewmaster Emeritus, ________ ________ [signature illegible] asserts that :  “By rigid adherence to brewing methods too often neglected in these times, we present here a beer in the traditional draft pilsner style of my native Bavaria.”  ( The only ingredients listed are: Agua, Malta de Cebada, and Adjuntos y Lupulo.)

Never having been to Bavaria, but favoring beers aspiring to similar claims, I cannot dispute the statement.  The beer was clean, and refreshing.  Just the thing after a full day including three boat dives under the tropical sun.

So he get’s “clean, and refreshing” beer (albeit brewed with “adjunctos”,) and I have to settle for San Miguel

Leave a Reply

